Reflection on learning theories and learning styles:

I revisited a post from the first week of class where I detailed what learning theories and learning styles resonate with me the most. In that post I stated that I learned best when I read information, listened, and practiced skills. That week I chose the theory that aligned most with how I learn and how I try to teach others, and discussed cognitive learning theory. I chose the cognitive learning theory because I recognized it is important to consider how people think when they learn, and to pay attention to the internal thoughts and processes people perform when they learn. I chose cognitive learning theory initially because when I was planning lessons, I would try to think about how learners would digest and confront information. 

After spending the semester exploring different learning theories and styles, I can amend my statement to also include connectivism and social learning as theories that are helpful in my personal learning journey. For instance, after reflection this semester, I know that I learn well by working with others on projects and via discussions with peers. Through formal education, and the continuing education that happens in the workplace, I have gleaned so much information and many ideas via social learning methods. As for connectivism, forming networks has been integral to creating space to continually learn. These dovetail well with my own personal learning preferences because working with others following a social learning schema allows for creative idea sharing (Kim, 2001), and because connectivism stresses network formation of people and technologies (Davis, Edmunds, and Kelley-Bateman, 2008). Both have helped me to continue my learning journey through formation of connections and information sharing.

Technology plays a large role in my learning. I taught information literacy and have incorporated using technology to search for answers and to research into all that I do academically. I believe that technology such as videoconferencing via Zoom and Microsoft Teams has opened up a whole vista of opportunity to deliver education in a way that is immediate and accessible to even more students than before, and that students are now more than ever able to replicate and access similar tools to those that their face-to-face counterparts can access. 

Davis, C., Edmunds, E., & Kelly-Bateman, V. (2008). Connectivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://textbookequity.org/Textbooks/Orey_Emergin_Perspectives_Learning.pdf

Kim, B. (2001). Social constructivism. In M. Orey (Ed.), Emerging perspectives on learning, teaching, and technology. Retrieved from http://textbookequity.org/Textbooks/Orey_Emergin_Perspectives_Learning.pdf

Leave a comment